City of Glass Review – 4 out of 5

“People aren’t born good or bad. Maybe they’re born with tendencies either way, but its the way you live your life that matters.”

That quote defined this book. Well, technically it defines the trilogy. Each character struggled with their own identities, all in their own ways. Alec with his gender, Isabelle with her emotions, Jace and Clary with their self recognition,Luke with his position, Simon with his abilities and status, Maryse and Richard with their redemption and Jonathan with acceptance.

What I loved about this book was how emotionally connected one got with the characters, as you continued to read. I cherished the good and the bad moments. I was heart broken when Max died. I felt bad for Hodge. I was joyousfor Clary and Jace. Amused of Simon, Isabelle and Maia.Cheered for Alec and Magnus! It was amusing and sweet when Alec searched for Magnus to pair up with him for combat and decided then to show both Downworlders and Shadowhunters his true self and love. I was angry at Valentine, then again who wasn’t? I was gushing over Luke and Jocelyn. Intrigued by Jonathan and I grew fond of Amatis. To have known that Imogen saved Jace, because she found out he was her nephew was sad. Knowing that both Jace and Clary have angel blood in them, was pretty darn cool.

I really enjoyed how this book was more action packed. I had nightmares about Ithuriel, that whole scenery, the way it played in my head was just eery. A lot of emotionalmoments as well. I was glad we got to hear Jocelyn’s side or full story, rather. It was amusing when she thought Clary found the news of Jace not being her brother a bad one, when in reality it was the best news her daughter received. It seemed to have wrapped up nicely in the end, I could see that she didn’t plan to extend the series. But at the same time, I also saw the potential of the story continuing on, seeing as there were lots of things left unanswered. Overall, a great read, it’s one of those stories you read andknow that it will forever stick with you in some way.

Professional Reader

Leave a Reply

